MPR Reflection

I am writing this today while the comments and discussion from yesterday are still fresh in my mind. Overall it was good to see what people are up to and get an idea of their making and practice. Some of the concepts and thought processes behind some of the work was impressive, but I actually hoped the feedback might have been a bit harsher.

“Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.”

The clumsy narrative device I used for the video of the disembodied old woman’s head didn’t really work as people seemed confused as to who was narrating the video…myself or the old woman’s ‘head as avatar’. No matter as it was a one off just for the video, but interesting to see the disparity between what is confusing to others, and what is clear to oneself.

There are two main issues to be addressed both of which were mentioned by my colleagues on the course, and questions I have been asking myself also.

  • 1 – Someone raised the point along the lines of…”..there was something missing, there were experiments from physical to screen, but not much visualised data to show…is he going to explore it in the 2nd half of the course”. This I have felt myself. I feel I spent too much time taking sensor signals onto the screen and then was dissatisfied with the ways I had to visualise the data. Processing just isn’t enough. I should have been aware of this earlier.
  • 2 – The second issue which another of my colleagues pointed out also was…”How does the short film relate to the interface”? This is important as I have been asking myself that also, and not just the short film mentioned, but also other strands of work I am exploring such as 3D imagery, IoT and VR. How do they all tie together into a cohesive body of exploration, what hook does the work revolve around conceptually? The short film can be made as a short VR film, with VR headset as interface, but that is cosmetic, I want to whittle things down so all the strands tie into a cohesive conceptual framework that gives the work depth.

“Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.”

“Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.”

“Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.”

Note to Self:

  • Words that are important; Mysticism, Ritual, Interface, Inverse, Reflection, Object.
Leave a Reply

