Gravel RoomScale

I wanted to originally get matting or floor sheeting printed with imagery from the VR piece but it became increasingly costly and impractical. So I decided to go with gravel instead. I won’t have to transport it to London, I can get x2 bags of stones/gravel on the other side.

The problem is that maybe an uneven floor space would not work with the HTC Vive’s base stations. I have done an experiment this morning and it seems to work fine, fingers crossed.

I placed a few 3D prints on the gravel and this seemed to disrupt the sensors, so will have to work out a way to display them outside the sensor range.

Also I like the idea that the person immersed will know by the crunch underneath not to move off the gravel.

Note to Self:

  • Gravel is usually wet/moist when in a 25kg builders bag, so it has to be dried out on newspaper for about 24 hours.
Leave a Reply

